Checking on My TaTas, Wellness Wed.

breast-cancer

It’s Wednesday!!! I hope you all are having a splendid day!! For this week’s edition of Wellness Wednesday and for the fact that it is breast cancer awareness month, I thought it would be a good idea to talk about my TATAs. How fun is that?  Every time that I have shared about my breast cancer, I get a new person who learns this fact about me. Here’s my first blog talking about (https://radical7even.wordpress.com/2014/03/23/see-what-had-happened-was-danielle/).

I was diagnosed at 28 with breast cancer. I was actually called with the diagnosis(how is that for bedside manner.) I can still remember it, I was in the library in Brent with my Personal Care Client and I got the call that the lump in my breast was cancerous. A lump I had had more than 5 years. I would feel it and be like, ‘Yep, I’m too young to have cancer.” In those moments, I  saw what I didn’t accomplish…me not being married…no kids..no house. I cried hard, real hard. I thought my life was over but actually it was just beginning. My family and friends rallied around me. I completed my radiation treatments and all my mammograms and blood work have shown that  I am in remission. My right tata is a little shorter and darker but for all intent and purposes, it is still in working order.

I don’t like going to the doctor. I think it started when I was younger because I would go and they would harp on me being overweight which I didn’t like myself but you telling me I’m overweight helps nothing. As an adult, I dislike because I pay $35 copays and they make you wait and within 5 minutes, they are trying to shuffle you out the door. Even still, Now I do my best to never again let any abnormalities in my body linger. I do view my body as a temple so I have to do my very best to keep it as healthy as possible.

In regard to breast cancer awareness month, do monthly breast exams on yourself.

If breast cancer runs in the family, you may want to discuss with your doctor about early testing.

For more information, Please check out this following websites:

http://www.adph.org/earlydetection/

http://www.bcrfa.org/

http://joytolifefoundation.org/

 

2 thoughts on “Checking on My TaTas, Wellness Wed.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

Facilitating Change

Helping people change through effective communication

