Wellness Wednesday, Inaugural Post

mental-illness

 

 

Hump Dayyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!

How you doing?? I know it has been a minute since I’ve blogged and I hope you have missed me as much as I have missed you. I wanted to start a conversation on mental health. In July, I had the opportunity to go and present at the Inaugural Minority Mental Health Awareness Summit (www.valenrich.com) which is Minority Mental Health Month. I was able to network with local and national representatives of different facets of the mental health community.

I wanted to start this series with my own personal issues. You know, it ain’t no party like an anxiety party. I  always remember having anxiety.  I can remember crying in first grade because I was scared somebody would hurt my little sister; she was fine by the way, always fearless in my eyes. It is something that for the longest time I thought was just going to be a normal part of my life. A couple of years ago, I have actively worked on conquering it. There are some days where I feel that I have it under control. I say my daily affirmations. I do deep breathing. I practice healthy self care. Other days, the only thing that  I feel that gets me up is the fact that If I get the 8 hours of work over with, I can hop back in my bed and be one with Netflix. It is my goal to be to have a more balanced life, which for me,  includes my emotional health. I have done better of not always faking it, telling my inner circle when I need support and knowing when I need to just unplug.

With this series, I hope to bring more awareness to mental health issues, local and national resources, and healthy coping skills.

With this, I hope your Wednesday is great and stress free.

 

Until Next Time,

 

DaniGee

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

Facilitating Change

Helping people change through effective communication

