I am Sick and It’s Not in My Head.

 

If you have a stomach ache, it is common knowledge that people will tell you to take a Tum or drink Pepto Bismal.

If you have a headache, people may ask if you have been eating too much salty food and tell you to take a pain pill.

You get diagnosed with Diabetes and the doctor wants to start you on an Insulin regime and get some of that weight off of your frame.

You have a panic attack back to back in a matter of two weeks and most likely (unfortunately) the response may be, “Let Go and Let God.”

This is a problem in the African American community.

Let me start off by saying that I love the Lord because he heard my cry **inserts bless up hands emoji** but our mental health is just as and sometimes more important than our physical health. If we as a community don’t see the importance of being mentally healthy, I feel we continue to repeat ourselves. Life is hard. Living life on life’s term can sometimes feel unbearable. I see so much strength in people who can admit that they have mental health issues and are actively seeking help for it.

I ponder on the reasons on why as African Americans, we deny having mental health problems. Is it because they don’t want to be described as being weak or crazy?  Is it because they feel that they have so much else going on that admitting to having anxiety or depression seems like an excuse?

The reason I wanted to start a series, Wellness Wednesdays,  on my blog was to emphasize the need for self care and shed light on Mental Health. I had planned for a different topic today but reading about Kid Cudi http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/people/2016/10/05/kid-cudi-facebook-rehab-depression-anxiety-suicidal-urges/91588300/ made me feel like this was the right time to discuss this topic.

cudi

 

I have mentioned this before in  my blog post but I suffer from anxiety. It has robbed me of years of happiness having replaced it with incessant worry and self doubt. I am learning to cope with it and I do use medication to help. I am not ashamed of it, just like I am not ashamed to take pills for high blood pressure, my breast cancer, and iron deficiency. I am better because I have come to grips with it. I am happier because I have accepted me for me and I work daily on me.

Take care of your mental health like you take care of that stomach ache. Don’t ignore it.

Listed below are resources:

http://www.valenrich.com/no_more_martyrs/mental_health_facts

http://www.nami.org/Get-Involved/Awareness-Events/Minority-Mental-Health-Awareness-Month

http://www.ebony.com/life/black-mental-health-resources#axzz4MhtDgLgH

 

Still PUSHing

Until Next Time,

 

DaniGee

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Grown and Curvy Woman

Where Style Has No Age Or Size

Facilitating Change

Helping people change through effective communication

