Doubting Self

Doubting Self

self doubt

 

Hey Hey!!

Life has been happening and I haven’t been blogging about it. For that, I apologize but I am here, right now. At least for the moment. This subject has been rolling around in my mouth and my head for a couple of weeks. I finally had to make myself sit down and put this in black and white. The subject is self-doubt. It has been a major thorn in my side, as of late. It has been professionally mostly but it has started to bleed into my personal life. I try my best to be as transparent when I struggle with certain issues. It is always my hope that someone can find help in what I am saying or even share similar experiences. I have narrowed down 3 personal root causes for my self-doubt.

 

  1. What I say to myself. What I say to myself is so much worse than any words that an enemy could stream together. I have to literally talk to myself on a daily basis, reminding myself how awesome I am, how much hard work I do. I say this, not to sound prideful but I realize that I can be really judgmental of myself. I use to critique myself constantly. “Did I laugh too loud?” Was that joke inappropriate?” “Can people tell that I don’t know what the heck I’m doing?” I also have the hardest time validating my accomplishments. If you were to look at my life, in the natural, I am not supposed to have gained the success that I have. When I am reminded of the great successes I have attained, I sometimes feel like it is a fluke and maybe luck made it happen, instead of my faith, hard work, and determination.

 

  1. Seeking approval of other’s opinions. This has shown up more in my professional life. I think I’ve shared in a past blog post, that I was promoted to a position about a year ago. It is a position in which I work closely with my supervisor and I have people in positions under me. I am also understanding of all the pressure that my supervisor has on her. I do my best to be proactive and to lighten her load, when and where I see fit. I take my position seriously and have taken the lead on things, either to see my involvement down played or not given the due  responsibility I feel I’ve earned. I’ve tried hard not to become bitter or pander to it but I am also a recovering people pleaser. I want people to notice how hard I’ve work or the extra hours I’ve put in to make something a success but when all I hear is crickets, I’ve taken it personally.

 

  1. Allowing myself to engage in behavior that is unbecoming of myself. People get on my nerves. Not everybody, but a few people really grinds my gears (Peter Griffin Voice). They do things that I perceive are malicious and if given the opportunity could add blemishes to my work reputation. I have friends outside of my work that I vent to but sometimes I make the grave mistake of talking to untrustworthy coworkers. I know, I know. I am just breaking codes, left and right. I have found out that these people are not to be trusted. They are the truest forms of instigators. They get a bone and they will run it down to hell. I know who they are and I know that what their potential of destruction is. I have to stay true to myself and not engage in this behavior. It leaves a nasty feeling on my spirit that never bodes well.

 

It felt good being able to record these thoughts that has been whirling. I am doing my best daily to not beat up on myself and I realize that every day is a new day to begin again.

How do you deal with self doubt? Negative situations at work?

Until Next Time,

DaniGee

Leave a Reply

